The Farmers Branch Historical Park
The community of Farmers Branch is recognized for its great location in the Metroplex, but the history of this small-town-turned-big-city-suburb has a story like none other in the area. Though not widely known, Farmers Branch was the first settlement in Dallas County, and the headquarters of the Peters Colony – which eventually stretched from the DFW Metroplex west to Stephenville and north to the Red River. Chosen for its fertile soil, proximity to water, and abundant wildlife, it was an ideal location for hard-working pioneers to put down roots. A wealth of natural resources, Farmers Branch was home to many of the “firsts” in the area, including the first cotton planted, the first blacksmith shop, the first tannery, and even the first school house built in 1845. It’s also home to the Farmers Branch Keenan Cemetery, the oldest cemetery in Dallas County.
In 1986, the Farmers Branch Historical Park was founded to preserve and share the rich heritage of North Texas and Farmers Branch. The cornerstones of the park are the 1937 Dodson House, home to the first mayor of Farmers Branch, and the 1856 Gilbert House, the oldest stone home in Dallas County still sitting on its original foundation. Since 1986, numerous other structures have been added including the original 1877 Depot and 1900 Schoolhouse, an 1885 Queen Anne Victorian Cottage, and log structures. Guests can barter for goods at the General Store, learn about chores that came with life on the frontier, or just sit in a rocking chair on the porch and ponder days gone by.
The Historical Park welcomes more than 100,000 visitors each year, and offers many opportunities from tours and educational programs to special events and lectures. Tours are available upon request.
Learn more about the Historical Park Structures 〉